Schedule

The first day of class (March 31 Wednesday), I'll discuss the administrative aspects of the course and give a brief overview of the topics. If you miss this day, then you shouldn't suffer too much for it, but you'll want to get the administrative information from me. The next day (April 5 Monday), the class will begin in earnest.

We cover the following sections of the textbook: 1.1, 6.1–6.7, 7.1&7.2, 7.5–7.8, 8.1, 8.3&8.4, 9.1–9.6, 9.8&9.9, 10.1–10.6. In other words, we cover Section 1.1 and Chapters 6–10, except for Sections 7.3&7.4, 8.2, 8.5–8.8, 9.7, and 10.7. It's a lot of material for 10 weeks, so the class has to move pretty fast; please talk to me early if you need help!

Our day-to-day schedule will look something like this:

March 31 Wednesday: Introduction: Section 1.1;
April 5 Monday:Sections 6.1&6.2;
April 7 Wednesday:Sections 6.3&6.4;
April 12 Monday:Sections 6.5&6.6;
April 14 Wednesday:Section 6.7;
April 19 Monday:Sections 7.1&7.2;
April 21 Wednesday:Section 7.5;
April 26 Monday:Sections 7.6&7.7;
April 28 Wednesday: Midterm exam;
May 3 Monday:Section 7.8;
May 5 Wednesday:Section 8.1;
May 10 Monday:Sections 8.3&8.4;
May 12 Wednesday:Sections 9.1&9.2;
May 17 Monday:Sections 9.3–9.5;
May 19 Wednesday:Sections 9.6, 9.8&9.9;
May 24 Monday:Sections 10.1&10.2;
May 26 Wednesday:Sections 10.3;
May 31 Monday:Memorial Day: no school;
June 2 Wednesday:Sections 10.4&10.5;
June 7 Monday:Section 10.6, review;
June 9 Wednesday: Final exam.
But this is a table of estimates, not promises! (I will update this table as time passes.)

The last day to drop the course with a full refund is April 7 Wednesday; the last day to drop at all is May 24 Monday. (It may be too late if you wait until after class on those days!) By May 6 Thursday, your midterm grade estimates should be available on WebAdvisor (and mailed to you if they're poor); your final grades should be available on June 14 Monday.


Go back to the course homepage.
Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

This web page was written between 2003 and 2010 by Toby Bartels. Toby reserves no legal rights to it.

The permanent URI of this web page is http://tobybartels.name/MATH-1100/2010s/schedule/.