Schedule

The first day of class (March 28 Wednesday), I'll discuss the administrative aspects of the course and give a brief introduction to the basic ideas of Intermediate Algebra. If you miss this day, then you shouldn't suffer too much for it, but you'll want to get the administrative information from me. The next day (March 30 Friday), the class will begin in earnest.

We cover the following sections of the textbook: 1.1, 6.1–6.7, 7.1&7.2, 7.5–7.8, 8.1, 8.3&8.4, 9.1–9.6, 9.8&9.9, 10.1–10.6. In other words, we cover Section 1.1 and Chapters 6–10, except for Sections 7.3&7.4, 8.2, 8.5–8.8, 9.7, and 10.7. It's a lot of material for 10 weeks, so the class has to move pretty fast; please talk to me early if you need help!

Our daily schedule will look something like this:

March 28 Wednesday: Introduction, §1.1;
March 30 Friday:§1.1, §6.1;
April 2 Monday:§§6.1–6.3;
April 4 Wednesday:§§6.2–6.5;
April 6 Friday:§§6.5&6.6;
April 9 Monday:§§6.6&6.7;
April 11 Wednesday:§6.7, §7.1;
April 13 Friday:§§7.1&7.2;
April 16 Monday:§7.2, §7.5;
April 18 Wednesday:§§7.5&7.6;
April 20 Friday:§§7.6&7.7;
April 23 Monday:§§7.7&7.8;
April 25 Wednesday:§§7.8&8.1;
April 27 Friday:§8.1;
April 30 Monday:Exam 1;
May 2 Wednesday:§§8.3&8.4;
May 4 Friday:§§8.3&8.4;
May 7 Monday:§§9.1&9.2;
May 9 Wednesday:§§9.1–9.4;
May 11 Friday:§§9.3–9.5;
May 14 Monday:§§9.5&9.6;
May 16 Wednesday:§9.6, §9.8;
May 18 Friday:§§9.8&9.9;
May 21 Monday:§9.9, §10.1;
May 23 Wednesday:§§10.1&10.2;
May 25 Friday:§§10.2&10.3;
May 28 Monday:Memorial Day: no school;
May 30 Wednesday:§§10.3–10.5;
June 1 Friday:§10.4&10.5;
June 4 Monday:Exam 2;
June 6 Wednesday:§10.6.
But this is a table of estimates, not promises! (I will update this table as time passes.)

The last day to drop the course with a full refund is April 4 Wednesday; the last day to drop at all is May 8 Tuesday. By May 4 Friday, your midterm grade estimates should be available on WebAdvisor; your final grades should be available on June 12 Tuesday.


Go back to the course homepage.
Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

This web page was written between 2003 and 2012 by Toby Bartels, last edited on 2012 May 11. Toby reserves no legal rights to it.

The permanent URI of this web page is http://tobybartels.name/MATH-1100/2012s/schedule/.