Homework

I will probably assign homework every day (except exam days), covering the material from the lecture given that day, and due the next non-exam class day. However, in case you have any questions about a homework assignment, we can discuss it during the first quarter hour or so of the day that it's due. During this time, I'll try to ensure that everybody knows how to do it. The homework problems will come from the textbook.

You don't have to turn in the homework, but you should try it! If you find some problems easy, then you can skip to the next batch, but you'll need to practise the material if you want to remember it for quizzes or exams, a subsequent course, or the rest of your life. Also, the quizzes will be heavily based on the assigned homework, and you can use your completed homework while taking the quizzes!

As you do your homework, I encourage you to talk with your fellow students. This is not cheating! Only the quizzes and exams have to be your own work.

In case you miss the homework, you can find it here. Any assignment dated in the future is tentative. (The date is the day that it is assigned, not the day that it is due.)

  1. Review (March 31 Thursday):
  2. Graphs (April 5 Tuesday):
  3. Functions (April 7 Thursday):
  4. Properties of functions (April 12 Tuesday):
  5. Library of functions and piecewise-defined functions (April 14 Thursday):
  6. Composition and inverse functions (April 21 Thursday):
  7. Inverse functions and linear coordinate transformations (April 26 Tuesday):
  8. Word problems with functions, linear functions (May 3 Tuesday):
  9. Quadratic functions (May 5 Thursday):
  10. Quadratic word problems (May 10 Tuesday):
  11. Exponential functions and logarithms (May 12 Thursday):
  12. Exponential and logarithmic expressions and equations (May 17 Tuesday):
  13. Exponential and logarithmic applications (May 19 Thursday):
  14. Systems of equations (May 24 Tuesday):
  15. Analysing factored polynomial functions (May 26 Thursday):
  16. Finding roots (May 31 Tuesday):
  17. Rational functions and inequalities (June 2 Thursday):
  18. Rational functions and inequalities (June 9 Thursday):
  19. That's it!

Go back to the the course homepage.
Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

This web page was written between 2003 and 2011 by Toby Bartels, last edited on 2011 June 9. Toby reserves no legal rights to it.

The permanent URI of this web page is http://tobybartels.name/MATH-1150/2011s/homework/.