Schedule

The first day of class (January 6 Thursday), I'll discuss the administrative aspects of the course and give a brief introduction to the basic ideas of College Algebra. If you miss this day, then you shouldn't suffer too much for it, but you'll want to get the administrative information from me. The next day (January 11 Tuesday), the class will begin in earnest.

In addition to a quick review of Chapters R and 1, we cover the following sections of the textbook: 2.2&2.3, 3.1–3.6, 4.1, 4.3&4.4, 5.1–5.6, 6.1–6.8, and 12.1. In other words, we cover Chapters 2–6, except for Sections 2.1, 2.4&2.5, 4.2, 4.5, and 6.9, plus Section 12.1.

I'm going to cover Sections 6.1&6.2 within Chapter 3, since I think that they make more sense there and they don't depend on anything in Chapters 4&5. I'll also do the rest of Chapter 6 before I do Chapter 5, since I think that the material in Chapter 6 is more important. Finally, I'll mix up Chapter 5 a bit.

It's a lot of material for 10 weeks, so the class has to move pretty fast; please talk to me early if you need help!

Our day-to-day schedule will look something like this:

January 6 Thursday: Introduction, Chapters R&1;
January 11 Tuesday:Sections 2.2&2.3;
January 13 Thursday:Sections 3.1&3.2;
January 18 Tuesday:Section 3.3;
January 20 Thursday:Section 3.4;
January 25 Tuesday:Sections 6.1&6.2;
January 27 Thursday:Sections 6.2, 3.5;
February 1 Tuesday:Snow day: no school;
February 3 Thursday:Sections 3.6, 4.1;
February 8 Tuesday: Midterm exam;
February 10 Thursday:Sections 4.3;
February 15 Tuesday:Sections 4.4;
February 17 Thursday:Sections 6.3&6.4;
February 22 Tuesday:Sections 6.5&6.6;
February 24 Thursday:Section 6.7&6.8;
March 1 Tuesday:Section 12.1;
March 3 Thursday:Section 5.1;
March 8 Tuesday:Sections 5.6, 5.5;
March 10 Thursday:Section 5.5;
March 15 Tuesday:Exam 2;
March 17 Thursday:Sections 5.2–5.4.
But this is a table of estimates, not promises! (I will update this table as time passes.)

The last day to drop the course with a full refund is January 12 Wednesday; the last day to drop at all is February 28 Monday. By February 11 Friday, your midterm grade estimates should be available on WebAdvisor if they're poor; your final grades should be available on March 21 Monday.


Go back to the course homepage.
Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

This web page was written between 2003 and 2011 by Toby Bartels, last edited on 2011 March 10. Toby reserves no legal rights to it.

The permanent URI of this web page is http://tobybartels.name/MATH-1150/2011w/schedule/.