Schedule

The first day of class (January 4 Wednesday), I'll discuss the administrative aspects of the course and give a brief introduction to the basic ideas of Trigonometry. If you miss this day, then you shouldn't suffer too much for it, but you'll want to get the administrative information from me. The next day (January 6 Friday), the class will begin in earnest.

We'll begin with a review of some concepts from College Algebra, especially material in Sections 2.1 and 2.4 of the textbook that often isn't covered in that class. Then we'll cover Chapters 7–10 from the textbook, except skipping Sections 8.7, 9.5, and 10.3. It's a lot of material for 10 weeks, so the class has to move pretty fast; please talk to me early if you need help!

Our daily schedule will look something like this:

January 4 Wednesday: Introduction;
January 6 Friday:§2.1, §2.4;
January 9 Monday:§7.1;
January 11 Wednesday:§7.2;
January 13 Friday:§7.3;
January 16 Monday: Martin Luther King Jr. Day: no school;
January 18 Wednesday:§§7.3&7.4;
January 20 Friday:§§7.4&7.5;
January 23 Monday:§§7.5&7.6;
January 25 Wednesday:§§7.6&7.7;
January 27 Friday:§§7.7&7.8;
January 30 Monday:Catch up;
February 1 Wednesday:§§8.1&8.2;
February 3 Friday:Review;
February 6 Monday:Exam 1;
February 8 Wednesday:§8.3;
February 10 Friday:§8.4;
February 13 Monday:Catch up;
February 15 Wednesday:§8.5;
February 17 Friday:Catch up;
February 20 Monday:§8.6, §9.1;
February 22 Wednesday:Catch up;
February 24 Friday:§§9.2&9.3;
February 27 Monday:Catch up;
February 29 Wednesday:§9.4;
March 2 Friday:§10.1;
March 5 Monday:§10.2;
March 7 Wednesday:§10.4;
March 9 Friday:Review;
March 12 Monday:Exam 2;
March 14 Wednesday: Final exam.
But this is a table of estimates, not promises! (I will update this table as time passes.)

The last day to drop the course with a full refund is January 11 Wednesday; the last day to drop at all is February 14 Tuesday. By February 10 Friday, your midterm grade estimates should be available on WebAdvisor; your final grades should be available by March 19 Monday.


Go back to the course homepage.
Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

This web page was written between 2003 and 2012 by Toby Bartels, last edited on 2012 March 7. Toby reserves no legal rights to it.

The permanent URI of this web page is http://tobybartels.name/MATH-1200/2012w/schedule/.