Schedule

The first day of class (October 4 Tuesday), I'll discuss the administrative aspects of the course and give a brief introduction to the basic ideas of Applied Calculus. If you miss this day, then you shouldn't suffer too much for it, but you'll want to get the administrative information from me. The next day (October 6 Thursday), the class will begin in earnest.

Roughly speaking, we cover Chapters 3 through 7 of the official textbook, but not in the textbook's order.

Our daily schedule will look something like this:

October 4 Tuesday: Introduction;
October 6 Thursday: Algebra review (Chapters 1&2);
October 11 Tuesday:Differences and differentials;
October 13 Thursday: Differentials and derivatives (§3-5, §§4-3–4-5);
October 18 Tuesday: Higher derivatives and functions (§5-2);
October 20 Thursday: Applications of differentials and derivatives (§3-7, §4-6);
October 25 Tuesday: Limits (§§3-1&3-2, §5-3);
October 27 Thursday: Optimisation (§§5-5&5-6);
November 3 Tuesday: Graphs (§5-1, §5-4);
November 3 Thursday:Exam 1;
November 8 Tuesday: Exponents and logarithms (§§4-1&4-2);
November 10 Thursday: Applications involving exponents and logarithms (§4-7);
November 15 Tuesday: Basics of integration (§6-1, §6-5);
November 17 Thursday: Integration techniques (§6-2, §§7-3&7-4);
November 22 Tuesday: Applications of integration (§§7-1&7-2);
November 29 Tuesday: Differential equations (§6-3);
December 1 Thursday: Numerical methods of integration (§6-4);
December 6 Tuesday: Numerical methods of limits and differentiation (§§3-3&3-4, §3-6);
December 8 Thursday:Review;
December 13 Tuesday:Exam 2;
December 15 Thursday:Final exam.
But this is a table of estimates, not promises! (I will update this table as time passes.)

The last day to drop the course with a full refund is October 10 Monday; the last day to drop at all is November 11 Friday. By November 8 Tuesday, your midterm grade estimates should be available on WebAdvisor; your final grades should be available on December 20 Tuesday.


Go back to the course homepage.
Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

This web page was written between 2003 and 2011 by Toby Bartels, last edited on 2011 November 22. Toby reserves no legal rights to it.

The permanent URI of this web page is http://tobybartels.name/MATH-1400/2011f/schedule/.