Schedule

The first day of class (March 29 Thursday), I'll discuss the administrative aspects of the course and give a brief introduction to the basic ideas of Applied Calculus. If you miss this day, then you shouldn't suffer too much for it, but you'll want to get the administrative information from me. The next day (April 3 Tuesday), the class will begin in earnest.

Roughly speaking, we cover Chapters 3 through 7 of the official textbook, but not in the textbook's order. This includes essentially all of Calculus Made Easy, but not Chapters XV&XVI.

Our daily schedule will look something like this:

March 29 Thursday: Introduction;
April 3 Tuesday: Algebra review (§§1&2);
April 5 Thursday:Differences and differentials;
April 10 Tuesday: Differentials and derivatives (§3-5, §§4-3–4-5);
April 12 Thursday: Higher derivatives and functions (§5-2);
April 17 Tuesday: Applications of differentials and derivatives (§3-7, §4-6);
April 19 Thursday: Limits (§§3-1&3-2, §5-3);
April 24 Tuesday: Optimisation (§§5-5&5-6);
April 26 Thursday: Graphs (§5-1, §5-4);
May 1 Tuesday:Exam 1;
May 3 Thursday: Exponents and logarithms (§§4-1&4-2);
May 8 Tuesday: Applications involving exponents and logarithms (§4-7);
May 10 Thursday: Basics of integration (§6-1, §6-5);
May 15 Tuesday: Integration techniques (§6-2, §§7-3&7-4);
May 17 Thursday: Applications of integration (§§7-1&7-2);
May 22 Tuesday: Differential equations (§6-3);
May 24 Thursday: Numerical methods of integration (§6-4);
May 29 Tuesday: Numerical methods of limits and differentiation (§§3-3&3-4, §3-6);
May 31 Thursday:Review;
June 5 Tuesday:Exam 2;
June 7 Thursday:Final review.
But this is a table of estimates, not promises! (I will update this table as time passes.)

The last day to drop the course with a full refund is April 4 Wednesday; the last day to drop at all is May 8 Tuesday. By May 4 Friday, your midterm grade estimates should be available on WebAdvisor; your final grades should be available on June 12 Tuesday.


Go back to the course homepage.
Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

This web page was written between 2003 and 2012 by Toby Bartels, last edited on 2012 April 4. Toby reserves no legal rights to it.

The permanent URI of this web page is http://tobybartels.name/MATH-1400/2012s/schedule/.