Schedule

The first day of class (March 31 Thursday), I'll discuss the administrative aspects of the course and give a brief introduction to the basic ideas of Applied Calculus. If you miss this day, then you shouldn't suffer too much for it, but you'll want to get the administrative information from me. The next day (April 5 Tuesday), the class will begin in earnest.

Roughly speaking, we cover Chapters 1 through 5 of the official textbook, but not in the textbook's order.

Our day-to-day schedule will look something like this:

March 31 Thursday: Introduction;
April 5 Tuesday:Algebra review;
April 7 Thursday:Differences and differentials;
April 12 Tuesday:Differentials and derivatives;
April 14 Thursday: Applications of differentials and derivatives;
April 19 Tuesday: Class cancelled due to illness;
April 21 Thursday:Higher derivatives and functions;
April 26 Tuesday:Limits;
April 28 Thursday:Graphs;
May 3 Tuesday:Exam 1;
May 5 Thursday:Review;
May 10 Tuesday:Exponents and logarithms;
May 12 Thursday: Applications involving exponents and logarithms;
May 17 Tuesday:Basics of integration;
May 19 Thursday:Integration techniques;
May 24 Tuesday:Applications of integration;
May 26 Thursday:Differential equations;
May 31 Tuesday:Numerical methods;
June 2 Thursday:Review;
June 7 Tuesday:Exam 2;
June 9 Thursday:Review.
But this is a table of estimates, not promises! (I will update this table as time passes.)

The last day to drop the course with a full refund is April 6 Wednesday; the last day to drop at all is May 23 Monday. By May 5 Thursday, your midterm grade estimates should be available on WebAdvisor if they're poor; your final grades should be available on June 13 Monday.


Go back to the course homepage.
Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

This web page was written between 2003 and 2011 by Toby Bartels, last edited on 2011 May 31. Toby reserves no legal rights to it.

The permanent URI of this web page is http://tobybartels.name/MATH-1400/2011s/schedule/.